Skip navigation

Premier of Queensland’s National New Media Art Award 2010

28 August 2010 8 November 2010

The Premier of Queensland’s National New Media Art Award is Australia’s most significant prize for new media art. Seven artists and collaborations were short-listed for the biennial acquisitive award: Philip Brophy (VIC), Nigel Helyer (NSW), Chris Howlett (QLD), Isobel Knowles and Van Sowerwine (VIC), Wade Marynowsky (NSW), Soda_Jerk (NSW) and Lynette Wallworth (NSW). 

The 2010 selection committee was comprised of Tony Ellwood, Director, Queensland Art Gallery; Bec Dean, Associate Director, Performance Space, Sydney; and Larissa Hjorth, artist and Senior Lecturer in Digital Art and Games Programs at the School of Creative Media and Computer Science at RMIT, Melbourne.

The award exhibition showcases new and recent works by each artist that express challenging and innovative approaches to the use of media including video, digital animation and gaming, robotics, sound and interactive technologies. The two-part award involves a $75 000 prize for the winning art work, which then becomes part of the Queensland Art Gallery's Collection; and a $25 000 scholarship, presented to an emerging Queensland new media artist.


Queensland Art Gallery
Related organisations
Selected objects
Astro Black Ep -1: The Race For Space (Excerpt), 2010, – from Astro Black, via Vimeo