Skip navigation

2011 Helen Lempriere Travelling Art Scholarship Exhibition

The Helen Lempriere Travelling Art Scholarship provides financial assistance for a New South Wales visual artist at the beginning of their career to undertake a program of professional development for one to two years which can include activities such as mentorships and internships; residencies; and short-term courses, workshops or other training with recognised organisations and artists. 

Formerly the New South Wales Travelling Art Scholarship, established in 1900, the Scholarship was renamed the Helen Lempriere Travelling Art Scholarship in 1997 on receiving support from the Helen Lempriere Bequest, managed by Perpetual. The Bequest was established under the will of Mr Keith Wood to commemorate his wife, Helen Lempriere, who died in 1991 at the age of 83. Helen Lempriere was a Melbourne-born artist who established her professional reputation while living in Europe from 1950 to 1966. She is represented in public collections in Australia including those of the Art Gallery of New South Wales.

The Helen Lempriere Travelling Art Scholarship has been awarded to Lin Li, 1997; Tony Schwensen, 1998; Maria Ionico, 1999; Katthy Cavaliere, 2000; Monika Tichacek, 2001; Ben Denham, 2002; Sean Cordeiro and Claire Healy, 2003; Kate Murphy, 2004; Ms & Mr, 2005; Todd McMillan, 2006; Sam Smith, 2007; Diego Bonetto, 2008; Lauren Brincat, 2009; and the 2010 recipient was Khaled Sabsabi.

2011 Helen Lempriere Travelling Art Scholarship recipient: Soda_Jerk.

Text from Artspace website


Related organisations