Skip navigation

1998 National Summer School

13 January 199831 January 1998

ANAT's ninth summer school focused on Internet Design and Web Authoring and was held at the IMAGO Multimedia Centre/ Film and Television Institute Digital Arts Studio in Fremantle from 13 - 31 January 1998. The 15 artists selected to participate in the 1998 National Summer School were: 

Keith Armstrong, Brisbane, QLD
Isabelle Delmotte, Sydney, NSW
Leah Irving, Perth, WA
Robyn Backen, Sydney, NSW
Joy Hardman, Alice Springs, NT
Jun-ann Lam, Melbourne, VIC
Di Ball, Brisbane, QLD
Timothy Hancox, Brisbane, QLD
Brian Martin, Hobart, TAS
Lisa Beilby, Darwin, NT
Simone Hockley, Adelaide, SA
Paul Thomas, Perth, WA
Tim Burns, Perth, WA
Teri Hoskin, Adelaide, SA
Trevor van Weeren, Darwin, NT

The tutors for the school were Lloyd Sharp, Francesca da Rimini and John Tonkin, three of Australia's leading new media artists.

To coincide with the school a satellite event was held on January 21. The event, Quick and Dirty, provided an opportunity for local artists to look at a range of work, talk about ideas and meet with the artists attending the school. The evening was launched by Dr Margaret Seares, Chair of the Australia Council, who spoke of the importance of training for artists in this field and the benefit of enabling connections and collaborations for artists working in this area locally and nationally. The evening combined a series of presentations and artists' vignettes, with an opportunity to meet the summer school participants and to view work-in-progress being produced at the school.

Presentations were undertaken by Kathy Bowry, a new media legal specialist, nervous_objects, graduates of the 1997 Summer School, who have gone on to work collaboratively, Perth based writer Josephine Wilson, Perth based artists Paul Thomas and Vicki Wilson and artists and tutors of the school, Francesca da Rimini and Lloyd Sharp.



Related organisations